Exam comparison · from official notices

RBI Assistant vs IBPS Clerk: salary, eligibility, exam pattern and syllabus

  • RBI Assistant is conducted by RBI; IBPS Clerk is conducted by IBPS.
  • Qualification — RBI Assistant: At least a bachelor's degree in any discipline with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate (pass class for SC/ST/PwBD), and knowledge of word processing on PC. IBPS Clerk: Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government.
  • Age limit — RBI Assistant: 20–28 years (born not earlier than 2 February 1998 and not later than 1 February 2006, both days inclusive) (as on 1 February 2026). IBPS Clerk: 20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) (as on 1 August 2026).
  • RBI Assistant has 3 stages in its printed pattern; IBPS Clerk has 2.

RBI Assistant vs IBPS Clerk: side by side

Each cell is copied from the exam's latest official notice. Always confirm in the notice before applying.

FactRBI AssistantIBPS Clerk
Conducting body
  • RBI
  • rbi.org.in
  • IBPS
  • ibps.in
Latest notice
  • Recruitment for the Post of Assistant – Panel Year 2025 in Reserve Bank of India (published Application window 16 February – 8 March 2026 (no issue date printed on the notice page))
  • CRP CSA-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Recruitment of Customer Service Associates (CSA) in Participating Public Sector Banks (vacancies of 2027-28) — Notification (published 1 August 2026)
Application status
  • Applications closed on 8 March 2026.
  • Applications closed on 28 August 2026.
Posts
  • Assistant (one office only per candidate)
  • Pay scale ₹29000–1700(3)–34100–2040(4)–42260–2720(6)–58580–2950(2)–64480–3370(3)–74590–4050(1)–78640; starting basic pay ₹29,000 per month
  • Customer Service Associate (clerical cadre) in 11 participating public sector banks
  • Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480
Pay (as printed)
  • Pay scale ₹29000–1700(3)–34100–2040(4)–42260–2720(6)–58580–2950(2)–64480–3370(3)–74590–4050(1)–78640; starting basic pay ₹29,000 per month
  • Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480
Age limit
  • 20–28 years (born not earlier than 2 February 1998 and not later than 1 February 2006, both days inclusive) (as on 1 February 2026)
  • 20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) (as on 1 August 2026)
Qualification
  • At least a bachelor's degree in any discipline with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate (pass class for SC/ST/PwBD), and knowledge of word processing on PC
  • Ex-Servicemen (other than dependents): a graduate from a recognised university, or matriculation or the equivalent Armed Forces examination with at least 15 years of defence service
  • Proficiency in the official/local language of the state(s) under the office applied for (read, write, speak and understand)
  • Eligibility is counted as on 1 February 2026
  • Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government
  • Must be a graduate on the day of online registration and enter the graduation percentage in the form; result must be declared on or before 21 August 2026
  • Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the official/local language of the state or UT applied for
  • Computer literacy: a certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or computers/IT studied as a subject in school or college
Selection stages
  • Preliminary Examination (online, objective) (60 minutes (20 minutes per test))
  • Main Examination (online, objective) (135 minutes (separately timed tests))
  • Language Proficiency Test (LPT) (—)
  • Preliminary (60 minutes (20 minutes per test))
  • Main (125 minutes (separately timed tests))
Negative marking
  • Both online exams have negative marking: 1/4 mark is deducted for each wrong answer.
  • Preliminary: Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer; no penalty for a blank.
  • Main: Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer.
Vacancies
  • 650 in 17 offices (SC 110, ST 37 incl. 1 backlog, OBC 99, EWS 58, GEN/UR 346). PwBD and Ex-Servicemen posts are included in these totals. The Bank may increase or decrease the vacancies.
  • 11,663 indicative (total of the state-wise figures in Annexure I as updated on 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported; may include backlog for some banks)
Application fee
  • ₹450 + 18% GST (GEN/OBC/EWS, application fee including intimation charges); ₹50 + 18% GST (SC/ST/PwBD/EXS, intimation charges only)
  • Staff candidates meeting the notice's criteria pay nothing. The fee is non-refundable and payment gateway charges are borne by the candidate.
  • ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM), inclusive of GST
  • No category is fully exempt; SC, ST, PwBD, ESM and DESM candidates pay the reduced ₹175 intimation charges. Bank transaction charges are borne by the candidate.
Official noticeOpen official notice ↗Open official notice ↗

Read more on each exam

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between RBI Assistant and IBPS Clerk eligibility?

RBI Assistant: age 20–28 years (born not earlier than 2 February 1998 and not later than 1 February 2006, both days inclusive) as on 1 February 2026; At least a bachelor's degree in any discipline with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate (pass class for SC/ST/PwBD), and knowledge of word processing on PC. Ex-Servicemen (other than dependents): a graduate from a recognised university, or matriculation or the equivalent Armed Forces examination with at least 15 years of defence service. Proficiency in the official/local language of the state(s) under the office applied for (read, write, speak and understand). Eligibility is counted as on 1 February 2026. IBPS Clerk: age 20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) as on 1 August 2026; Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government. Must be a graduate on the day of online registration and enter the graduation percentage in the form; result must be declared on or before 21 August 2026. Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the official/local language of the state or UT applied for. Computer literacy: a certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or computers/IT studied as a subject in school or college. Both from the latest official notices.

What is the salary of RBI Assistant vs IBPS Clerk?

As printed in the notices — RBI Assistant: Pay scale ₹29000–1700(3)–34100–2040(4)–42260–2720(6)–58580–2950(2)–64480–3370(3)–74590–4050(1)–78640; starting basic pay ₹29,000 per month. IBPS Clerk: Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480. Allowances are paid on top; in-hand pay is not estimated here.

How is the selection process of RBI Assistant different from IBPS Clerk?

RBI Assistant: Online Preliminary Examination (qualifying; about 10 times the vacancies shortlisted for the Main exam); Online Main Examination (merit; about 2 times the vacancies called for the LPT); Language Proficiency Test in the official/local language of the state (no exemption); Medical fitness and document verification. IBPS Clerk: Preliminary exam: online objective test of 100 marks (qualifying; shortlists for Mains); Main exam: online objective test of 200 marks; only these marks count for final merit; Provisional allotment to a participating bank (state-wise, merit-cum-preference); Local language proficiency test before joining (unless exempt by Class 10 or higher marksheet).

How many vacancies are there in RBI Assistant and IBPS Clerk?

RBI Assistant: 650 in 17 offices (SC 110, ST 37 incl. 1 backlog, OBC 99, EWS 58, GEN/UR 346). PwBD and Ex-Servicemen posts are included in these totals. The Bank may increase or decrease the vacancies.. IBPS Clerk: 11,663 indicative (total of the state-wise figures in Annexure I as updated on 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported; may include backlog for some banks). As printed in each latest notice.

What is the application fee for RBI Assistant and IBPS Clerk?

RBI Assistant: ₹450 + 18% GST (GEN/OBC/EWS, application fee including intimation charges); ₹50 + 18% GST (SC/ST/PwBD/EXS, intimation charges only). IBPS Clerk: ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM), inclusive of GST. Fee exemptions are listed in each notice.

All exam comparisons