Exam guide · IBPS

IBPS Clerk

IBPS Common Recruitment Process for Customer Service Associates / Clerks (CRP CSA/Clerk)

A common recruitment process run by IBPS to select Customer Service Associates (clerical cadre) for participating public sector banks, filled state by state.

Vacancies

11,663 indicative

Age limit

20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive)

Application fee

₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM), inclusive of GST

Notice published

1 August 2026

IBPS Clerk notification: key dates and vacancies

Online registration and fee payment1 August – 28 August 2026 (extended from 21 August by corrigendum dated 21.08.2026)
Edit window to modify/correct the application2 days after registration closes (dates notified on ibps.in)
Pre-examination trainingSeptember 2026 (tentative)
Preliminary exam call lettersSeptember 2026 (tentative)
Preliminary exam (online)October 2026 (tentative)
Preliminary exam resultNovember 2026 (tentative)
Main exam call lettersNovember 2026 (tentative)
Main exam (online)December 2026 (tentative)
Provisional allotmentMarch 2027 (tentative)
Vacancies11,663 indicative (total of the state-wise figures in Annexure I as updated on 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported; may include backlog for some banks)

Posts filled through this exam

  • Customer Service Associate (clerical cadre) in 11 participating public sector banks
  • Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480

Source: CRP CSA-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Recruitment of Customer Service Associates (CSA) in Participating Public Sector Banks (vacancies of 2027-28) — Notification (published 1 August 2026). Confirm in the official notice before applying.

IBPS Clerk is the Institute of Banking Personnel Selection's common recruitment process for Customer Service Associates, the clerical cadre of public sector banks. The current cycle, CRP CSA-XVI, fills vacancies of the financial year 2027-28 in eleven participating banks. Its detailed notification is dated 1 August 2026.

Clerical recruitment is done state by state. You apply for vacancies of one state or UT only, must know that state's local language, and sit two online exams: a preliminary exam and a main exam. There is no interview. Final merit is based only on the main exam, and successful candidates are provisionally allotted to a bank in that state; a local language proficiency test follows before joining.

This guide sets out the updated indicative vacancies (11,663 as of 29 September 2026), the pay scale, age and relaxation rules, both exam patterns, the language test and the application steps exactly as the official IBPS notification and its corrigenda print them.

IBPS Clerk 2026 vacancies: state-wise and bank-wise (indicative)

The original vacancy table added up to 11,403 indicative vacancies. A corrigendum dated 29 September 2026 updated Annexure I, and the updated tables add up to 11,663. Union Bank of India has not reported its vacancies (marked NR), and the notice says the figures may include backlog vacancies for some banks.

These numbers are indicative. Provisional allotment is made on the actual vacancies each bank reports to IBPS, so the final number allotted in your state can differ.

Category-wise total (updated Annexure I)

SCSTOBCEWSURTotal
1,9369622,8631,0244,87811,663

Out of which: HI 146, OC 127, VI 125, ID 96 (PwBD), ex-servicemen 1,058 and disabled ex-servicemen 419. These are included in the category figures.

State/UT-wise vacancies (updated Annexure I)

State / UTSCSTOBCEWSURTotal
Andaman & Nicobar01511219
Andhra Pradesh3411551682198
Arunachal Pradesh019042245
Assam26419931157354
Bihar89114642213491
Chandigarh40411120
Chhattisgarh33821323114265
Dadra & Nagar Haveli06111018
Daman & Diu001067
Delhi653612736157421
Goa051054161
Gujarat5511320668319761
Haryana400561588199
Himachal Pradesh2541884297
Jammu & Kashmir261743968
Jharkhand1945211483182
Karnataka2311013911435921,458
Kerala100321168121
Ladakh000066
Lakshadweep0401611
Madhya Pradesh911149949223576
Maharashtra12096294954571,062
Manipur012332442
Meghalaya04011722
Mizoram06001319
Nagaland011021831
Odisha55734030147345
Puducherry10512027
Punjab150010740190487
Rajasthan69578635163410
Sikkim04431728
Tamil Nadu140521659278698
Telangana3119481884200
Tripura1017053365
Uttar Pradesh375185151656791,752
Uttarakhand252171191146
West Bengal2364922783356951
Total1,9369622,8631,0244,87811,663

Bank-wise total (updated Annexure I, all states added)

BankSCSTOBCEWSURTotal
Canara Bank3762455772401,0622,500
Punjab National Bank3331484591908862,016
Indian Bank3341064711346551,700
Bank of Baroda2021373321476421,460
Central Bank of India2981224411004581,419
Indian Overseas Bank1306618968327780
Bank of India695611454207500
Bank of Maharashtra593411040257500
UCO Bank60318326212412
Punjab & Sind Bank75178725172376
Union Bank of India—————Not reported

IBPS Clerk salary: CSA pay scale

A Customer Service Associate is paid in the basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 1,340/3 – 28,070 – 1,650/3 – 33,020 – 2,000/4 – 41,020 – 2,340/7 – 57,400 – 4,400/1 – 61,800 – 2,680/1 – 64,480. Read it as: basic pay starts at ₹24,050 and rises by ₹1,340 a year for 3 years, then ₹1,650 for 3 years, ₹2,000 for 4 years, ₹2,340 for 7 years, ₹4,400 for 1 year and ₹2,680 for 1 year, up to ₹64,480.

Allowances and perquisites are paid as per the rules of the bank you join. The IBPS notice does not print a gross or in-hand figure, so none is shown here.

Age limit, relaxation and qualification

You must be 20–28 years old on 1 August 2026, that is, born not earlier than 2 August 1998 and not later than 1 August 2006 (both dates inclusive). The upper limit of 28 applies to General and EWS candidates; relaxations are below.

You need a degree (graduation) in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification. You must already be a graduate with a valid marksheet or degree certificate on the day you register, and your result must be declared on or before 21 August 2026. Enter your graduation percentage to two decimals; fractions are ignored, so 59.99% counts as less than 60%. If your university awards CGPA/OGPA, convert it using the university's own norms and keep proof of the conversion.

Computer literacy is mandatory: a certificate, diploma or degree in computer operations or a computer language, or computers/IT studied as a subject in school, college or an institute.

Ex-servicemen without a civil graduation qualify if they are matriculates holding the Army Special Certificate of Education (or the Navy or Air Force equivalent) after at least 15 years of service, as on 21 August 2026.

Upper age relaxation

CategoryRelaxation
Scheduled Caste / Scheduled Tribe5 years
Other Backward Classes (non-creamy layer)3 years
Persons with Benchmark Disabilities10 years
Ex-Servicemen / Disabled Ex-ServicemenActual service in the defence forces + 3 years (8 years for Disabled Ex-Servicemen of SC/ST), up to a maximum age of 50
Widows, divorced women and women legally separated from their husbands, not remarriedUp to age 35 (General/EWS), 38 (OBC) and 40 (SC/ST)

SC/ST/OBC relaxation can be combined with only one of the other categories (PwBD, ex-servicemen or widows/divorced women).

How the two exams work: cut-offs, negative marking and merit

The preliminary exam is a one-hour online test of 100 questions and 100 marks: English Language (30 questions), Numerical Ability (35) and Reasoning Ability (35), each separately timed at 20 minutes. You must clear the cut-off in each of the three tests; IBPS then shortlists an adequate number of candidates in each category for the main exam.

The main exam is a 125-minute online test of 160 questions and 200 marks: General/Financial Awareness (40 questions, 50 marks, 20 minutes), General English (40 questions, 40 marks, 35 minutes), Reasoning Ability (40 questions, 60 marks, 35 minutes) and Quantitative Aptitude (40 questions, 50 marks, 35 minutes). You need a minimum score in each test and a minimum total, and cut-offs are decided by the vacancies in each state.

In both exams, one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question is deducted for every wrong answer. A question left blank carries no penalty.

Where an exam is held in several sessions, scores are normalised using the equi-percentile method, to two decimal places. Only main exam marks count for final merit: the 200 marks are converted to a score out of 100 for provisional allotment. If two candidates tie, the older candidate is placed higher.

English is tested in English. The other tests are offered in English, Hindi and, for many states, the regional language listed in the notice — for example Telugu in Andhra Pradesh, Kannada and Konkani in Karnataka, Marathi and Konkani in Maharashtra, Tamil in Tamil Nadu and Bengali in West Bengal.

Local Language Proficiency Test (LLPT)

Because clerical vacancies are state-wise, you must be proficient in reading, writing, speaking and understanding the specified local language of the state or UT you apply for. You choose one language from that state's list (Annexure III) in the online form.

If you produce a Class 10 or higher marksheet or certificate showing you studied that language, you do not take the test. Otherwise the test is held after the main exam or provisional allotment but before joining; it is marks-based and qualifying, and failing it means you will not be offered appointment.

Specified local languages (Annexure III)

State / UTLanguage
Andaman & Nicobar IslandsHindi / English
Andhra PradeshTelugu / Urdu
Arunachal PradeshEnglish
AssamAssamese / Bengali / Bodo
BiharHindi / Urdu
ChandigarhHindi / Punjabi
ChhattisgarhHindi
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuGujarati
DelhiHindi
GoaKonkani
GujaratGujarati
HaryanaHindi / Punjabi
Himachal PradeshHindi
Jammu & KashmirUrdu / Hindi
JharkhandHindi / Santhali
KarnatakaKannada
KeralaMalayalam
LadakhUrdu / Ladakhi / Bhoti (Bodhi)
LakshadweepMalayalam
Madhya PradeshHindi
MaharashtraMarathi
ManipurManipuri / English
MeghalayaEnglish / Garo / Khasi
MizoramMizo
NagalandEnglish
OdishaOdia
PuducherryTamil
PunjabPunjabi / Hindi
RajasthanHindi
SikkimNepali / English
Tamil NaduTamil
TelanganaTelugu / Urdu
TripuraBengali / Kokborok
Uttar PradeshHindi / Urdu
UttarakhandHindi
West BengalBengali / Nepali

Provisional allotment and the reserve list

  • After the main exam, shortlisted candidates are provisionally allotted to one participating bank in their state on merit-cum-preference, following the government's reservation guidelines and the actual vacancies reported by the banks.
  • Once made, an allotment is final: a request to change banks leads to cancellation, and not taking up the bank's offer forfeits your chance in this process.
  • A reserve list of about 30% of the vacancies in each category may be kept, and further allotment rounds (three to four times) may be run from it if banks report more vacancies.
  • The process (and the reserve list) expires one year after the date of provisional allotment, or when a fresh allotment is made, whichever is earlier.
  • The allotted bank verifies your documents and may reject a candidate who does not meet its criteria; provisional allotment is not itself an offer of employment.

How to apply for IBPS Clerk (CRP CSA-XVI)

  1. 1

    Register on ibps.in

    Go to ibps.in, open the CRP CSA link and choose 'Click here for new registration'. Registration and fee payment ran from 1 August to 28 August 2026 (extended from 21 August by a corrigendum dated 21.08.2026). Apply online only; no other mode is accepted.

  2. 2

    Choose your state carefully

    You can apply for vacancies of only one state or UT, and the choice is irrevocable. You will also pick the exam medium and one local language for that state.

  3. 3

    Upload your documents

    Upload a photograph, signature, left thumb impression, a hand-written declaration and your Class 10 (SSC/SSLC) or equivalent certificate, plus the Appendix-I certificate if it applies to you. A live photo is also captured by webcam or mobile during registration. File specifications are in Annexure IV. DigiLocker can be used voluntarily to share Aadhaar and education records.

  4. 4

    Pay the fee online

    ₹850 including GST for most candidates and ₹175 for SC, ST, PwBD, ESM and DESM candidates, by debit card (RuPay/Visa/MasterCard/Maestro), credit card, internet banking, IMPS, cash card/mobile wallet or UPI. Print the e-receipt and the application form.

  5. 5

    Use the edit window if needed

    For 2 days after registration closes you can correct your form once, for ₹200 (including GST, for all categories). Name, email, mobile number, state/UT of vacancy, address state, post and nationality cannot be edited.

  6. 6

    Download call letters

    Download the preliminary and main exam call letters from ibps.in. Keep the stamped preliminary call letter and stamped ID copy safely — you must bring them to the main exam, along with one extra photograph (the same one pasted on the call letter) at each exam.

Documents for the exam and for joining

At the exam you need your call letter and an original photo ID with a photocopy, bearing exactly the same name: PAN card, passport, permanent driving licence, voter's card, bank passbook with photo, photo ID from a gazetted officer or people's representative on letterhead, college/university ID, Aadhaar/e-Aadhaar with photo, employee ID or Bar Council ID. A ration card or learner's licence is not accepted. Biometric data and photos may be captured at different stages.

  • Printout of your registered CRP CSA-XVI online application.
  • Proof of date of birth (birth certificate or Class 10 certificate with date of birth).
  • Graduation marksheets and certificates, with proof that the result was declared on or before 21 August 2026.
  • Class 10 or higher marksheet showing you studied the local language, if you want the language-test exemption.
  • SC/ST/OBC caste certificate in the government format (OBC with the non-creamy-layer clause, issued on or after 1 April 2026), or the EWS Income and Asset Certificate.
  • PwBD disability certificate from the medical board; ex-servicemen certificates (Proforma A/B/C/D) as applicable.
  • A No Objection Certificate if you work in a government office, PSU or bank, and any other document supporting your eligibility.

Latest IBPS Clerk recruitment

No active trusted recruitment is published for this exam right now.

Exam overview

Reviewed editorial

Who it is for

Graduates who want a clerical-cadre banking job in a public sector bank in a state whose local language they know.

Eligibility, age and qualification

Exact limits are set per post in each official notice.

Age limit

20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) (as on 1 August 2026)

Educational qualification

  • Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government
  • Must be a graduate on the day of online registration and enter the graduation percentage in the form; result must be declared on or before 21 August 2026
  • Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the official/local language of the state or UT applied for
  • Computer literacy: a certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or computers/IT studied as a subject in school or college

Upper age relaxation

SC / ST5 years
OBC (non-creamy layer)3 years
PwBD10 years
Ex-Servicemen / Disabled Ex-ServicemenActual defence service + 3 years (8 years for Disabled ESM of SC/ST), up to a maximum age of 50
Widows, divorced women and women legally separated, not remarriedUp to age 35 (General/EWS), 38 (OBC), 40 (SC/ST)

Application fee

₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM), inclusive of GST. No category is fully exempt; SC, ST, PwBD, ESM and DESM candidates pay the reduced ₹175 intimation charges. Bank transaction charges are borne by the candidate.

Source: CRP CSA-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Recruitment of Customer Service Associates (CSA) in Participating Public Sector Banks (vacancies of 2027-28) — Notification (published 1 August 2026). Confirm in the official notice before applying.

  • Indian nationality (as defined in the notice)
  • Graduation in any discipline
  • Age within the notified limit
  • Proficiency in the official language of the state applied for
  • Category-wise age relaxation

Selection process and exam pattern

Stages of selection

  1. 1Preliminary exam: online objective test of 100 marks (qualifying; shortlists for Mains)
  2. 2Main exam: online objective test of 200 marks; only these marks count for final merit
  3. 3Provisional allotment to a participating bank (state-wise, merit-cum-preference)
  4. 4Local language proficiency test before joining (unless exempt by Class 10 or higher marksheet)

Preliminary

60 minutes (20 minutes per test)

SubjectQuestionsMarks
English Language3030
Numerical Ability3535
Reasoning Ability3535

Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer; no penalty for a blank. You must clear each test's cut-off decided by IBPS.

Main

125 minutes (separately timed tests)

SubjectQuestionsMarks
General / Financial Awareness (20 minutes)4050
General English (35 minutes)4040
Reasoning Ability (35 minutes)4060
Quantitative Aptitude (35 minutes)4050

Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer. A minimum score is required in each test and in the total. Only main exam marks are used for final merit.

Source: CRP CSA-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Recruitment of Customer Service Associates (CSA) in Participating Public Sector Banks (vacancies of 2027-28) — Notification (published 1 August 2026). Confirm in the official notice before applying.

Reviewed editorial

Candidates take an online preliminary exam and an online main exam; there is no interview. Provisional allotment to a participating bank is made state-wise on main exam merit and preference, subject to a local language proficiency test before joining.

Syllabus and subject-wise prep

  • English Language
  • Numerical Ability / Quantitative Aptitude
  • Reasoning Ability
  • General and Financial Awareness
  • Local language of the chosen state

Prepare for IBPS Clerk

Continue to the existing preparation workspace. Unsupported PYQ resources are not shown.

Frequently asked questions

What is the age limit for IBPS Clerk?

20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive), counted as on 1 August 2026, as per the CRP CSA-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Recruitment of Customer Service Associates (CSA) in Participating Public Sector Banks (vacancies of 2027-28) — Notification. Category-wise upper age relaxation is given in the notice.

What qualification is needed for IBPS Clerk?

Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government. Must be a graduate on the day of online registration and enter the graduation percentage in the form; result must be declared on or before 21 August 2026. Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the official/local language of the state or UT applied for. Computer literacy: a certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or computers/IT studied as a subject in school or college.

When can I apply for IBPS Clerk?

Edit window to modify/correct the application: 2 days after registration closes (dates notified on ibps.in), as per the notice published on 1 August 2026. Applications are made only on ibps.in.

What is the IBPS Clerk exam pattern?

Preliminary: English Language, Numerical Ability, Reasoning Ability (60 minutes (20 minutes per test)). Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer; no penalty for a blank. You must clear each test's cut-off decided by IBPS. Main: General / Financial Awareness (20 minutes), General English (35 minutes), Reasoning Ability (35 minutes), Quantitative Aptitude (35 minutes) (125 minutes (separately timed tests)). Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer. A minimum score is required in each test and in the total. Only main exam marks are used for final merit.

How many vacancies are there in IBPS Clerk?

11,663 indicative (total of the state-wise figures in Annexure I as updated on 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported; may include backlog for some banks), according to the CRP CSA-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Recruitment of Customer Service Associates (CSA) in Participating Public Sector Banks (vacancies of 2027-28) — Notification.

How many vacancies are there in IBPS Clerk 2026?

11,663 indicative vacancies for 2027-28: the total of the state-wise figures in the table updated by the corrigendum dated 29 September 2026 (the original table added up to 11,403). Union Bank of India has not reported its figures.

What is the age limit for IBPS Clerk 2026?

20–28 years as on 1 August 2026 (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006), with 5 years' relaxation for SC/ST, 3 for OBC (non-creamy layer) and 10 for PwBD.

What is the salary of an IBPS Clerk?

The basic pay scale is ₹24,050 – ₹64,480, plus allowances and perquisites as per the rules of the bank you join. The notice does not give an in-hand figure.

Can final-year students apply for IBPS Clerk?

No. You must already be a graduate on the day you register, with your result declared on or before 21 August 2026.

Is there an interview in IBPS Clerk?

No. Selection is through the online preliminary and main exams; only main exam marks count for final merit, followed by the local language test before joining.

Is there negative marking in IBPS Clerk?

Yes. One fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question is deducted for every wrong answer in both exams; unanswered questions carry no penalty.

What is the IBPS Clerk exam pattern?

Prelims: 100 questions, 100 marks, 60 minutes (English 30, Numerical Ability 35, Reasoning 35). Mains: 160 questions, 200 marks, 125 minutes (General/Financial Awareness 40, General English 40, Reasoning 40, Quantitative Aptitude 40).

Can I apply for more than one state in IBPS Clerk?

No. You can apply for vacancies of one state or UT only, and that choice cannot be changed later.

Do I need to know the local language for IBPS Clerk?

Yes. You must be proficient in the specified language of the state you apply for. A Class 10 or higher marksheet showing you studied it exempts you from the language test; otherwise you must pass the test before joining.

What is the IBPS Clerk application fee?

₹850 including GST for most candidates and ₹175 for SC, ST, PwBD, ESM and DESM candidates. Correcting your form in the edit window costs ₹200.

Which banks take part in IBPS Clerk 2026?

Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra, Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, Indian Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Punjab National Bank, Punjab & Sind Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India.

When is the IBPS Clerk 2026 exam?

The notice's tentative schedule is October 2026 for the preliminary exam, December 2026 for the main exam and March 2027 for provisional allotment. Exact dates appear on your call letter and on ibps.in.

What is IBPS Clerk?

A common recruitment process run by IBPS to select Customer Service Associates (clerical cadre) for participating public sector banks, filled state by state.

Who is IBPS Clerk for?

Graduates who want a clerical-cadre banking job in a public sector bank in a state whose local language they know.

How is IBPS Clerk selection described?

Candidates take an online preliminary exam and an online main exam; there is no interview. Provisional allotment to a participating bank is made state-wise on main exam merit and preference, subject to a local language proficiency test before joining.

Niyookti is not part of IBPS. The official IBPS website (ibps.in) and its notices are the only final source. Always confirm details there before applying.