Exam guide · IBPS
IBPS PO
IBPS Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (CRP PO/MT)
A common recruitment process run by IBPS to select Probationary Officers and Management Trainees for participating public sector banks.
Vacancies
6,715
Age limit
20–30 years
Application fee
₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST
Notice published
1 July 2026
IBPS PO notification: key dates and vacancies
| Online application and fee payment | 1 July – 26 July 2026 (extended from 21 July by corrigendum dated 21.07.2026) |
|---|---|
| Preliminary exam (online) | August 2026 (tentative) |
| Main exam (online) | October 2026 (tentative) |
| Personality test and interview | November – December 2026 (tentative) |
| Provisional allotment | January 2027 (tentative) |
| Vacancies | 6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported) |
Posts filled through this exam
- Probationary Officer / Management Trainee in 11 participating public sector banks
- Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale)
Source: CRP PO/MT-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (vacancies of 2027-28) — Detailed Notification (published 1 July 2026). Confirm in the official notice before applying.
Posts in IBPS PO: pay level and age limit
Open a post for its departments, qualification and exam stages.
| Post | Pay level | Group | Age limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Probationary Officer in Bank of Baroda | Basic ₹48,480 | Officer, JMGS-I | 20–30 years |
| Probationary Officer in Canara Bank | Basic ₹48,480 | Officer, JMGS-I | 20–30 years |
| Probationary Officer in Bank of Maharashtra | Basic ₹48,480 | Officer, JMGS-I | 20–30 years |
| Probationary Officer in Indian Overseas Bank | Basic ₹48,480 | Officer, JMGS-I | 20–30 years |
| Probationary Officer in Punjab National Bank | Basic ₹48,480 | Officer, JMGS-I | 20–30 years |
| Probationary Officer in Bank of India | Basic ₹48,480 | Officer, JMGS-I | 20–30 years |
| Probationary Officer in Central Bank of India | Basic ₹48,480 | Officer, JMGS-I | 20–30 years |
| Probationary Officer in Punjab & Sind Bank | Basic ₹48,480 | Officer, JMGS-I | 20–30 years |
IBPS PO is the common recruitment process run by the Institute of Banking Personnel Selection for Probationary Officers and Management Trainees in public sector banks. The 2026 process, CRP PO/MT-XVI, fills vacancies of the financial year 2027-28 in eleven participating banks.
Selection has four steps: an online preliminary exam, an online main exam with a descriptive paper, a self-report personality test, and a common interview conducted by the participating banks. Your final score combines the main exam and the interview in an 80:20 ratio, and successful candidates are provisionally allotted to a bank in early 2027.
This guide covers the bank-wise indicative vacancies, the JMGS-I pay scale, age and relaxation rules, both exam patterns, interview qualifying marks, and the application steps exactly as the official IBPS notification prints them.
IBPS PO 2026 vacancies: bank-wise (indicative)
Annexure I of the notification gives 6,715 indicative vacancies for 2027-28. Three banks — Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India — had not reported their figures, and some banks' numbers may include backlog vacancies. Final allotment follows the actual vacancies the banks report, so treat these as indicative.
Indicative vacancies by bank
| Bank | SC | ST | OBC | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | 285 | 142 | 513 | 190 | 770 | 1,900 |
| Canara Bank | 225 | 112 | 405 | 150 | 608 | 1,500 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 165 | 82 | 297 | 110 | 446 | 1,100 |
| Indian Overseas Bank | 84 | 41 | 148 | 54 | 223 | 550 |
| Punjab National Bank | 76 | 38 | 136 | 50 | 204 | 504 |
| Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Central Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 24 | 13 | 47 | 15 | 62 | 161 |
| Indian Bank, UCO Bank, Union Bank of India | — | — | — | — | — | Not reported |
| Total | 1,009 | 502 | 1,816 | 669 | 2,719 | 6,715 |
IBPS PO salary: JMGS-I pay scale
A Probationary Officer / Management Trainee joins at a basic pay of ₹48,480 in the scale ₹48,480 – 2,000/7 – 62,480 – 2,340/2 – 67,160 – 2,680/7 – 85,920. Read it as: basic pay rises by ₹2,000 a year for 7 years, then ₹2,340 for 2 years, then ₹2,680 for 7 years, up to ₹85,920. Allowances and perquisites are paid as per the rules of the bank you are allotted to; the notice does not print a gross or in-hand figure.
Age limit, relaxation and qualification
You must be 20–30 years old on 1 July 2026, that is, born not earlier than 2 July 1996 and not later than 1 July 2006 (both dates inclusive).
You need a degree (graduation) in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification. You must already be a graduate on the day you register and must enter your graduation percentage in the online form.
Upper age relaxation
| Category | Relaxation |
|---|---|
| Scheduled Caste / Scheduled Tribe | 5 years |
| Other Backward Classes (non-creamy layer) | 3 years |
| Persons with Benchmark Disabilities | 10 years |
| Ex-servicemen, commissioned officers incl. ECOs/SSCOs with at least 5 years' military service | 5 years (conditions in the notice) |
Cut-offs, interview marks and final merit
In the preliminary exam you must clear each of the three tests (English, Quantitative Aptitude, Reasoning) by the cut-off marks IBPS decides; shortlisting for the main exam is category-wise as per requirements. In the main exam you must also obtain a minimum score in each test and in the total.
Every wrong answer in the objective tests costs one fourth (0.25) of the marks for that question; an unanswered question carries no penalty. The descriptive paper may be evaluated by an automated scoring mechanism that IBPS states is validated.
Candidates who qualify the main exam take a self-report personality test. It is non-qualifying, but you must appear in it to be eligible for the interview; your personality profile is placed before the interview panel.
The interview carries 100 marks. The minimum qualifying marks are 40% (35% for SC, ST, OBC and PwBD candidates). Final merit uses the main exam and interview in an 80:20 ratio, and you must qualify in both.
How to apply for IBPS PO
- 1
Register on ibps.in
Online registration and fee payment ran from 1 July to 26 July 2026 (extended from 21 July by a corrigendum dated 21.07.2026). Registration includes a two-day edit window after closing; fields you cannot edit later are listed in the notice.
- 2
Upload the required documents
You upload a photograph, signature, left thumb impression and a hand-written declaration, plus any certificate required for your category, in the formats given in Annexure III.
- 3
Pay the fee
₹850 (including GST) for most candidates and ₹175 for SC, ST and PwBD candidates, paid online only. Bank transaction charges are borne by the candidate.
- 4
Attend pre-exam training if offered
Pre-examination training (August 2026 in the schedule) is offered for eligible candidates as described in the notice.
- 5
Download call letters for each stage
Call letters for the preliminary and main exams are downloaded from the IBPS website; you cannot appear without a valid call letter and an original photo ID.
Latest IBPS PO recruitment
No active trusted recruitment is published for this exam right now.
Exam overview
Reviewed editorial
Who it is for
Graduates who want an officer-level career in a public sector bank.
Eligibility, age and qualification
Exact limits are set per post in each official notice.
Age limit
20–30 years (as on 1 July 2026)
Educational qualification
- Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent)
- Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared
Upper age relaxation
| SC / ST | 5 years |
| OBC (non-creamy layer) | 3 years |
| PwBD | 10 years |
| Ex-Servicemen / ECOs / SSCOs | 5 years (conditions in the notice) |
Application fee
₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST. No category is fully exempt; SC, ST and PwBD candidates pay the reduced ₹175 intimation charges.
Source: CRP PO/MT-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (vacancies of 2027-28) — Detailed Notification (published 1 July 2026). Confirm in the official notice before applying.
- Indian nationality (as defined in the notice)
- Graduation in any discipline
- Age within the notified limit
- Category-wise age relaxation
Selection process and exam pattern
Stages of selection
- 1Preliminary exam: online objective test (qualifying; shortlists for Mains)
- 2Main exam: online objective test plus descriptive paper
- 3Personality test and common interview
- 4Provisional allotment to a participating bank
Preliminary
60 minutes (20 minutes per section)
| Subject | Questions | Marks |
|---|---|---|
| English Language | 30 | 30 |
| Quantitative Aptitude | 35 | 30 |
| Reasoning Ability | 35 | 40 |
Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer. Sectional cut-offs apply.
Main (objective)
160 minutes
| Subject | Questions | Marks |
|---|---|---|
| Reasoning | 40 | 60 |
| General / Economy / Banking / Digital / Financial Awareness | 50 | 60 |
| English Language | 40 | 20 |
| Data Analysis & Interpretation | 40 | 60 |
Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer.
Main (descriptive)
30 minutes
| Subject | Questions | Marks |
|---|---|---|
| Essay and Comprehension (English) | 2 | 25 |
Source: CRP PO/MT-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (vacancies of 2027-28) — Detailed Notification (published 1 July 2026). Confirm in the official notice before applying.
Reviewed editorial
Candidates progress through an online preliminary exam, an online main exam and an interview, with final allotment to participating banks based on merit and preference.
Syllabus and subject-wise prep
- Reasoning Ability
- Quantitative Aptitude / Data Interpretation
- English Language
- General, Economy and Banking Awareness
- Descriptive writing (essay and comprehension)
Prepare for IBPS PO
Continue to the existing preparation workspace. Unsupported PYQ resources are not shown.
Frequently asked questions
What is the age limit for IBPS PO?
20–30 years, counted as on 1 July 2026, as per the CRP PO/MT-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (vacancies of 2027-28) — Detailed Notification. Category-wise upper age relaxation is given in the notice.
What qualification is needed for IBPS PO?
Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent). Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared.
When can I apply for IBPS PO?
Online application and fee payment: 1 July – 26 July 2026 (extended from 21 July by corrigendum dated 21.07.2026), as per the notice published on 1 July 2026. Applications are made only on ibps.in.
What is the IBPS PO exam pattern?
Preliminary: English Language, Quantitative Aptitude, Reasoning Ability (60 minutes (20 minutes per section)). Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer. Sectional cut-offs apply. Main (objective): Reasoning, General / Economy / Banking / Digital / Financial Awareness, English Language, Data Analysis & Interpretation (160 minutes). Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer. Main (descriptive): Essay and Comprehension (English) (30 minutes)
How many vacancies are there in IBPS PO?
6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported), according to the CRP PO/MT-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (vacancies of 2027-28) — Detailed Notification.
How many vacancies are there in IBPS PO 2026?
6,715 indicative vacancies for 2027-28 across the reporting banks; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India had not reported figures.
What is the salary of an IBPS PO?
Basic pay starts at ₹48,480 in the JMGS-I scale (₹48,480 – ₹85,920), plus allowances and perquisites as per the allotted bank's rules.
What is the age limit for IBPS PO 2026?
20–30 years as on 1 July 2026 (born between 2 July 1996 and 1 July 2006), with 5 years' relaxation for SC/ST, 3 for OBC and 10 for PwBD.
Is there negative marking in IBPS PO?
Yes: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of the question for every wrong answer in the objective tests.
How many marks is the IBPS PO interview?
100 marks, with minimum qualifying marks of 40% (35% for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD).
How is the IBPS PO final merit calculated?
From the main exam and interview scores in an 80:20 ratio; you must qualify in both.
Is the IBPS PO personality test qualifying?
No. It is a self-report test that is non-qualifying, but appearing in it is mandatory to be called for the interview.
What is the IBPS PO application fee?
₹850 including GST for general candidates and ₹175 for SC, ST and PwBD candidates.
Which banks take part in IBPS PO 2026?
Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra, Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, Indian Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Punjab National Bank, Punjab & Sind Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India.
Can final-year students apply for IBPS PO?
No. You must already hold a graduation degree (and know your percentage) on the day you register.
What is IBPS PO?
A common recruitment process run by IBPS to select Probationary Officers and Management Trainees for participating public sector banks.
Who is IBPS PO for?
Graduates who want an officer-level career in a public sector bank.
How is IBPS PO selection described?
Candidates progress through an online preliminary exam, an online main exam and an interview, with final allotment to participating banks based on merit and preference.
Niyookti is not part of IBPS. The official IBPS website (ibps.in) and its notices are the only final source. Always confirm details there before applying.