Exam comparison · from official notices

LIC AAO vs IBPS PO: salary, eligibility, exam pattern and syllabus

  • LIC AAO is conducted by LIC; IBPS PO is conducted by IBPS.
  • Qualification — LIC AAO: Bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognised Indian university/institution. IBPS PO: Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent).
  • Age limit — LIC AAO: 21–30 years (born between 2 August 1995 and 1 August 2004, both dates inclusive) (as on 1 August 2025). IBPS PO: 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2026).
  • LIC AAO has 4 stages in its printed pattern; IBPS PO has 3.

LIC AAO vs IBPS PO: side by side

Each cell is copied from the exam's latest official notice. Always confirm in the notice before applying.

FactLIC AAOIBPS PO
Conducting body
  • LIC
  • licindia.in
  • IBPS
  • ibps.in
Latest notice
  • Recruitment of Assistant Administrative Officers (AAO) Generalist — 32nd Batch (published 16 August 2025)
  • CRP PO/MT-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (vacancies of 2027-28) — Detailed Notification (published 1 July 2026)
Application status
  • Applications closed on 8 September 2025.
  • Applications closed on 26 July 2026.
Posts
  • Assistant Administrative Officer (Generalist)
  • Basic pay ₹88,635 per month in the scale ₹88,635 – 4,385(14) – 1,50,025 – 4,750(4) – 1,69,025
  • Probationary Officer / Management Trainee in 11 participating public sector banks
  • Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale)
Pay (as printed)
  • Basic pay ₹88,635 per month in the scale ₹88,635 – 4,385(14) – 1,50,025 – 4,750(4) – 1,69,025
  • Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale)
Age limit
  • 21–30 years (born between 2 August 1995 and 1 August 2004, both dates inclusive) (as on 1 August 2025)
  • 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2026)
Qualification
  • Bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognised Indian university/institution
  • The result must have been declared on or before 1 August 2025; supporting documents from the board/university are produced at interview
  • Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent)
  • Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared
Selection stages
  • Preliminary (Phase I) (1 hour (20 minutes per test))
  • Main (Phase II), objective test (2 hours (separately timed sections))
  • Main (Phase II), descriptive test (30 minutes (typed on computer))
  • Interview (Phase III) (—)
  • Preliminary (60 minutes (20 minutes per section))
  • Main (objective) (160 minutes)
  • Main (descriptive) (30 minutes)
Negative marking
  • Preliminary (Phase I): No negative marking.
  • Main (Phase II), objective test: No negative marking.
  • There is no negative marking in either exam.
  • Preliminary: Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer.
  • Main (objective): Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer.
Vacancies
  • 350 (provisional: 341 current year + 9 backlog; UR 142, OBC 91, SC 51, EWS 38, ST 28)
  • 6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported)
Application fee
  • ₹700 (all others) or ₹85 intimation charges (SC/ST/PwBD), plus transaction charges and GST
  • No category is fully exempt; SC, ST and PwBD candidates pay only the ₹85 intimation charges. Fees are non-refundable.
  • ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST
  • No category is fully exempt; SC, ST and PwBD candidates pay the reduced ₹175 intimation charges.
Official noticeOpen official notice ↗Open official notice ↗

Read more on each exam

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between LIC AAO and IBPS PO eligibility?

LIC AAO: age 21–30 years (born between 2 August 1995 and 1 August 2004, both dates inclusive) as on 1 August 2025; Bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognised Indian university/institution. The result must have been declared on or before 1 August 2025; supporting documents from the board/university are produced at interview. IBPS PO: age 20–30 years as on 1 July 2026; Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent). Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared. Both from the latest official notices.

What is the salary of LIC AAO vs IBPS PO?

As printed in the notices — LIC AAO: Basic pay ₹88,635 per month in the scale ₹88,635 – 4,385(14) – 1,50,025 – 4,750(4) – 1,69,025. IBPS PO: Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale). Allowances are paid on top; in-hand pay is not estimated here.

How is the selection process of LIC AAO different from IBPS PO?

LIC AAO: Phase I: Preliminary exam, online objective test (qualifying; shortlists about 20 times the vacancies in each category for Mains); Phase II: Main exam, online objective test (300 marks) plus online descriptive English test (25 marks, qualifying); Phase III: Interview (60 marks); Pre-recruitment medical examination. IBPS PO: Preliminary exam: online objective test (qualifying; shortlists for Mains); Main exam: online objective test plus descriptive paper; Personality test and common interview; Provisional allotment to a participating bank.

How many vacancies are there in LIC AAO and IBPS PO?

LIC AAO: 350 (provisional: 341 current year + 9 backlog; UR 142, OBC 91, SC 51, EWS 38, ST 28). IBPS PO: 6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported). As printed in each latest notice.

What is the application fee for LIC AAO and IBPS PO?

LIC AAO: ₹700 (all others) or ₹85 intimation charges (SC/ST/PwBD), plus transaction charges and GST. IBPS PO: ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST. Fee exemptions are listed in each notice.

All exam comparisons