Exam comparison · from official notices

IBPS PO vs IBPS Clerk: salary, eligibility, exam pattern and syllabus

  • IBPS PO is conducted by IBPS; IBPS Clerk is conducted by IBPS.
  • Qualification — IBPS PO: Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent). IBPS Clerk: Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government.
  • Age limit — IBPS PO: 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2026). IBPS Clerk: 20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) (as on 1 August 2026).
  • IBPS PO has 3 stages in its printed pattern; IBPS Clerk has 2.

IBPS PO vs IBPS Clerk: side by side

Each cell is copied from the exam's latest official notice. Always confirm in the notice before applying.

FactIBPS POIBPS Clerk
Conducting body
  • IBPS
  • ibps.in
  • IBPS
  • ibps.in
Latest notice
  • CRP PO/MT-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (vacancies of 2027-28) — Detailed Notification (published 1 July 2026)
  • CRP CSA-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Recruitment of Customer Service Associates (CSA) in Participating Public Sector Banks (vacancies of 2027-28) — Notification (published 1 August 2026)
Application status
  • Applications closed on 26 July 2026.
  • Applications closed on 28 August 2026.
Posts
  • Probationary Officer / Management Trainee in 11 participating public sector banks
  • Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale)
  • Customer Service Associate (clerical cadre) in 11 participating public sector banks
  • Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480
Pay (as printed)
  • Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale)
  • Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480
Age limit
  • 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2026)
  • 20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) (as on 1 August 2026)
Qualification
  • Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent)
  • Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared
  • Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government
  • Must be a graduate on the day of online registration and enter the graduation percentage in the form; result must be declared on or before 21 August 2026
  • Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the official/local language of the state or UT applied for
  • Computer literacy: a certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or computers/IT studied as a subject in school or college
Selection stages
  • Preliminary (60 minutes (20 minutes per section))
  • Main (objective) (160 minutes)
  • Main (descriptive) (30 minutes)
  • Preliminary (60 minutes (20 minutes per test))
  • Main (125 minutes (separately timed tests))
Negative marking
  • Preliminary: Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer.
  • Main (objective): Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer.
  • Preliminary: Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer; no penalty for a blank.
  • Main: Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer.
Vacancies
  • 6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported)
  • 11,663 indicative (total of the state-wise figures in Annexure I as updated on 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported; may include backlog for some banks)
Application fee
  • ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST
  • No category is fully exempt; SC, ST and PwBD candidates pay the reduced ₹175 intimation charges.
  • ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM), inclusive of GST
  • No category is fully exempt; SC, ST, PwBD, ESM and DESM candidates pay the reduced ₹175 intimation charges. Bank transaction charges are borne by the candidate.
Official noticeOpen official notice ↗Open official notice ↗

Read more on each exam

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between IBPS PO and IBPS Clerk eligibility?

IBPS PO: age 20–30 years as on 1 July 2026; Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent). Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared. IBPS Clerk: age 20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) as on 1 August 2026; Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government. Must be a graduate on the day of online registration and enter the graduation percentage in the form; result must be declared on or before 21 August 2026. Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the official/local language of the state or UT applied for. Computer literacy: a certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or computers/IT studied as a subject in school or college. Both from the latest official notices.

What is the salary of IBPS PO vs IBPS Clerk?

As printed in the notices — IBPS PO: Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale). IBPS Clerk: Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480. Allowances are paid on top; in-hand pay is not estimated here.

How is the selection process of IBPS PO different from IBPS Clerk?

IBPS PO: Preliminary exam: online objective test (qualifying; shortlists for Mains); Main exam: online objective test plus descriptive paper; Personality test and common interview; Provisional allotment to a participating bank. IBPS Clerk: Preliminary exam: online objective test of 100 marks (qualifying; shortlists for Mains); Main exam: online objective test of 200 marks; only these marks count for final merit; Provisional allotment to a participating bank (state-wise, merit-cum-preference); Local language proficiency test before joining (unless exempt by Class 10 or higher marksheet).

How many vacancies are there in IBPS PO and IBPS Clerk?

IBPS PO: 6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported). IBPS Clerk: 11,663 indicative (total of the state-wise figures in Annexure I as updated on 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported; may include backlog for some banks). As printed in each latest notice.

What is the application fee for IBPS PO and IBPS Clerk?

IBPS PO: ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST. IBPS Clerk: ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM), inclusive of GST. Fee exemptions are listed in each notice.

All exam comparisons