Exam comparison · from official notices

IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk: salary, eligibility, exam pattern and syllabus

  • IBPS Clerk is conducted by IBPS; SBI Clerk is conducted by SBI.
  • Qualification — IBPS Clerk: Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government. SBI Clerk: Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government.
  • Age limit — IBPS Clerk: 20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) (as on 1 August 2026). SBI Clerk: 20–28 years (born between 2 April 1998 and 1 April 2006, both days inclusive) (as on 1 April 2026).
  • IBPS Clerk has 2 stages in its printed pattern; SBI Clerk has 2.

IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk: side by side

Each cell is copied from the exam's latest official notice. Always confirm in the notice before applying.

FactIBPS ClerkSBI Clerk
Conducting body
  • IBPS
  • ibps.in
  • SBI
  • sbi.bank.in
Latest notice
  • CRP CSA-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Recruitment of Customer Service Associates (CSA) in Participating Public Sector Banks (vacancies of 2027-28) — Notification (published 1 August 2026)
  • Recruitment of Junior Associates (Customer Support & Sales) in State Bank of India (Advertisement No. CRPD/CR/2026-27/17) (published 11 August 2026)
Application status
  • Applications closed on 28 August 2026.
  • Applications closed on 31 August 2026.
Posts
  • Customer Service Associate (clerical cadre) in 11 participating public sector banks
  • Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480
  • Junior Associate (Customer Support & Sales), clerical cadre, State Bank of India
  • Starting basic pay ₹26,730 (₹24,050 plus two advance increments for graduates)
Pay (as printed)
  • Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480
  • Starting basic pay ₹26,730 (₹24,050 plus two advance increments for graduates)
Age limit
  • 20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) (as on 1 August 2026)
  • 20–28 years (born between 2 April 1998 and 1 April 2006, both days inclusive) (as on 1 April 2026)
Qualification
  • Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government
  • Must be a graduate on the day of online registration and enter the graduation percentage in the form; result must be declared on or before 21 August 2026
  • Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the official/local language of the state or UT applied for
  • Computer literacy: a certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or computers/IT studied as a subject in school or college
  • Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government
  • Final-year or final-semester students may apply provisionally but must show they passed on or before 31 December 2026; integrated dual degree holders must also have passed by that date
  • Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the specified local language of the state or UT applied for
Selection stages
  • Preliminary (60 minutes (20 minutes per test))
  • Main (125 minutes (separately timed tests))
  • Preliminary (1 hour (20 minutes per section))
  • Main (2 hours 40 minutes (separately timed tests))
Negative marking
  • Preliminary: Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer; no penalty for a blank.
  • Main: Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer.
  • Preliminary: Negative marking: 1/4 of the question's marks for each wrong answer.
  • Main: Negative marking: 1/4 of the question's marks for each wrong answer.
Vacancies
  • 11,663 indicative (total of the state-wise figures in Annexure I as updated on 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported; may include backlog for some banks)
  • 7,680 regular vacancies (plus backlog vacancies listed separately in the advertisement)
Application fee
  • ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM), inclusive of GST
  • No category is fully exempt; SC, ST, PwBD, ESM and DESM candidates pay the reduced ₹175 intimation charges. Bank transaction charges are borne by the candidate.
  • ₹750 (General/OBC/EWS); Nil (SC/ST/PwBD/XS/DXS)
  • SC, ST, PwBD, ex-servicemen and disabled ex-servicemen/dependents pay no fee. The fee is non-refundable.
Official noticeOpen official notice ↗Open official notice ↗

Read more on each exam

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between IBPS Clerk and SBI Clerk eligibility?

IBPS Clerk: age 20–28 years (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006, both dates inclusive) as on 1 August 2026; Graduation in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government. Must be a graduate on the day of online registration and enter the graduation percentage in the form; result must be declared on or before 21 August 2026. Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the official/local language of the state or UT applied for. Computer literacy: a certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or computers/IT studied as a subject in school or college. SBI Clerk: age 20–28 years (born between 2 April 1998 and 1 April 2006, both days inclusive) as on 1 April 2026; Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government. Final-year or final-semester students may apply provisionally but must show they passed on or before 31 December 2026; integrated dual degree holders must also have passed by that date. Proficiency (reading, writing, speaking and understanding) in the specified local language of the state or UT applied for. Both from the latest official notices.

What is the salary of IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk?

As printed in the notices — IBPS Clerk: Basic pay scale ₹24,050 – 64,480. SBI Clerk: Starting basic pay ₹26,730 (₹24,050 plus two advance increments for graduates). Allowances are paid on top; in-hand pay is not estimated here.

How is the selection process of IBPS Clerk different from SBI Clerk?

IBPS Clerk: Preliminary exam: online objective test of 100 marks (qualifying; shortlists for Mains); Main exam: online objective test of 200 marks; only these marks count for final merit; Provisional allotment to a participating bank (state-wise, merit-cum-preference); Local language proficiency test before joining (unless exempt by Class 10 or higher marksheet). SBI Clerk: Phase-I, Preliminary exam: online objective test of 100 marks (qualifying; about 10 times the vacancies shortlisted category-wise); Phase-II, Main exam: online objective test of 200 marks; only these marks decide the merit list; Phase-III, Local Language Proficiency Test for provisionally selected candidates who did not study the language in Class 10 or 12.

How many vacancies are there in IBPS Clerk and SBI Clerk?

IBPS Clerk: 11,663 indicative (total of the state-wise figures in Annexure I as updated on 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported; may include backlog for some banks). SBI Clerk: 7,680 regular vacancies (plus backlog vacancies listed separately in the advertisement). As printed in each latest notice.

What is the application fee for IBPS Clerk and SBI Clerk?

IBPS Clerk: ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM), inclusive of GST. SBI Clerk: ₹750 (General/OBC/EWS); Nil (SC/ST/PwBD/XS/DXS). Fee exemptions are listed in each notice.

All exam comparisons