Exam comparison · from official notices

PNB LBO vs IBPS PO: salary, eligibility, exam pattern and syllabus

  • PNB LBO is conducted by PNB; IBPS PO is conducted by IBPS.
  • Qualification — PNB LBO: Graduate in any discipline from a university or institution recognised/approved by the Government of India or its regulatory bodies; the degree must be held on the registration date. IBPS PO: Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent).
  • Age limit — PNB LBO: 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2025). IBPS PO: 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2026).
  • PNB LBO has 1 stage in its printed pattern; IBPS PO has 3.

PNB LBO vs IBPS PO: side by side

Each cell is copied from the exam's latest official notice. Always confirm in the notice before applying.

FactPNB LBOIBPS PO
Conducting body
  • PNB
  • pnb.bank.in
  • IBPS
  • ibps.in
Latest notice
  • Recruitment of 750 Local Bank Officers in Punjab National Bank (published 03.11.2025)
  • CRP PO/MT-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (vacancies of 2027-28) — Detailed Notification (published 1 July 2026)
Application status
  • Applications closed on 23 November 2025.
  • Applications closed on 26 July 2026.
Posts
  • Local Bank Officer, JMGS-I (Post Code 01)
  • Pay scale ₹48480-2000/7-62480-2340/2-67160-2680/7-85920
  • Probationary Officer / Management Trainee in 11 participating public sector banks
  • Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale)
Pay (as printed)
  • Pay scale ₹48480-2000/7-62480-2340/2-67160-2680/7-85920
  • Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale)
Age limit
  • 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2025)
  • 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2026)
Qualification
  • Graduate in any discipline from a university or institution recognised/approved by the Government of India or its regulatory bodies; the degree must be held on the registration date
  • At least one year of post-qualification work experience in the clerical or officer cadre of any Scheduled Commercial Bank or Regional Rural Bank, counted up to 23.11.2025
  • Proficiency (reading, writing and speaking) in the specified local language of the state applied for
  • Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent)
  • Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared
Selection stages
  • Online written test (objective) (180 minutes (sectionally timed))
  • Preliminary (60 minutes (20 minutes per section))
  • Main (objective) (160 minutes)
  • Main (descriptive) (30 minutes)
Negative marking
  • Not printed in the notice data shown here
  • Preliminary: Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer.
  • Main (objective): Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer.
Vacancies
  • 750 Local Bank Officers in 17 states/UTs (SC 104, ST 49, OBC 194, EWS 67, UR 336), including 23 for PwBD. Vacancies are provisional and may change.
  • 6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported)
Application fee
  • ₹1000 + 18% GST = ₹1180 (all others); ₹50 + 18% GST = ₹59 (SC/ST/PwBD, postage charges only)
  • The fee is non-refundable.
  • ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST
  • No category is fully exempt; SC, ST and PwBD candidates pay the reduced ₹175 intimation charges.
Official noticeOpen official notice ↗Open official notice ↗

Read more on each exam

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between PNB LBO and IBPS PO eligibility?

PNB LBO: age 20–30 years as on 1 July 2025; Graduate in any discipline from a university or institution recognised/approved by the Government of India or its regulatory bodies; the degree must be held on the registration date. At least one year of post-qualification work experience in the clerical or officer cadre of any Scheduled Commercial Bank or Regional Rural Bank, counted up to 23.11.2025. Proficiency (reading, writing and speaking) in the specified local language of the state applied for. IBPS PO: age 20–30 years as on 1 July 2026; Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent). Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared. Both from the latest official notices.

What is the salary of PNB LBO vs IBPS PO?

As printed in the notices — PNB LBO: Pay scale ₹48480-2000/7-62480-2340/2-67160-2680/7-85920. IBPS PO: Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale). Allowances are paid on top; in-hand pay is not estimated here.

How is the selection process of PNB LBO different from IBPS PO?

PNB LBO: Online written test (150 questions, 150 marks); Screening; Local Language Proficiency Test (LLPT); Personal interview (50 marks). IBPS PO: Preliminary exam: online objective test (qualifying; shortlists for Mains); Main exam: online objective test plus descriptive paper; Personality test and common interview; Provisional allotment to a participating bank.

How many vacancies are there in PNB LBO and IBPS PO?

PNB LBO: 750 Local Bank Officers in 17 states/UTs (SC 104, ST 49, OBC 194, EWS 67, UR 336), including 23 for PwBD. Vacancies are provisional and may change.. IBPS PO: 6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported). As printed in each latest notice.

What is the application fee for PNB LBO and IBPS PO?

PNB LBO: ₹1000 + 18% GST = ₹1180 (all others); ₹50 + 18% GST = ₹59 (SC/ST/PwBD, postage charges only). IBPS PO: ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST. Fee exemptions are listed in each notice.

All exam comparisons