Exam comparison · from official notices

IBPS PO vs SBI PO: salary, eligibility, exam pattern and syllabus

  • IBPS PO is conducted by IBPS; SBI PO is conducted by SBI.
  • Qualification — IBPS PO: Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent). SBI PO: Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government.
  • Age limit — IBPS PO: 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2026). SBI PO: 21–30 years (as on 1 April 2026).
  • IBPS PO has 3 stages in its printed pattern; SBI PO has 3.

IBPS PO vs SBI PO: side by side

Each cell is copied from the exam's latest official notice. Always confirm in the notice before applying.

FactIBPS POSBI PO
Conducting body
  • IBPS
  • ibps.in
  • SBI
  • sbi.bank.in
Latest notice
  • CRP PO/MT-XVI: Common Recruitment Process for Probationary Officers / Management Trainees (vacancies of 2027-28) — Detailed Notification (published 1 July 2026)
  • Recruitment of Probationary Officers in State Bank of India, 2026 (Advertisement No. CRPD/PO/2026-27/09) (published 18 June 2026)
Application status
  • Applications closed on 26 July 2026.
  • Applications closed on 8 July 2026.
Posts
  • Probationary Officer / Management Trainee in 11 participating public sector banks
  • Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale)
  • Probationary Officer, Junior Management Grade Scale-I (JMGS-I)
Pay (as printed)
  • Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale)
  • Basic pay ₹48,480 (scale 48480-2000/7-62480-2340/2-67160-2680/7-85920), plus 4 advance increments
Age limit
  • 20–30 years (as on 1 July 2026)
  • 21–30 years (as on 1 April 2026)
Qualification
  • Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent)
  • Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared
  • Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government
  • Final-year or final-semester students may apply provisionally but must have passed by 30 September 2026
  • Integrated dual degree holders must have passed by 30 September 2026
Selection stages
  • Preliminary (60 minutes (20 minutes per section))
  • Main (objective) (160 minutes)
  • Main (descriptive) (30 minutes)
  • Preliminary (1 hour)
  • Main (Objective) (3 hours)
  • Main (Descriptive) (30 minutes)
Negative marking
  • Preliminary: Negative marking: one fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question for each wrong answer.
  • Main (objective): Negative marking: 0.25 of the marks per wrong answer.
  • Negative marking: 1/4 of the question's marks for each wrong answer.
Vacancies
  • 6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported)
  • 1,500 (1,446 regular + 54 backlog)
Application fee
  • ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST
  • No category is fully exempt; SC, ST and PwBD candidates pay the reduced ₹175 intimation charges.
  • ₹750 (General/EWS/OBC); Nil (SC/ST/PwBD)
  • SC, ST and PwBD candidates pay no fee. The fee is non-refundable.
Official noticeOpen official notice ↗Open official notice ↗

Read more on each exam

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between IBPS PO and SBI PO eligibility?

IBPS PO: age 20–30 years as on 1 July 2026; Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university (or equivalent). Must be a graduate on the day of online registration, with the percentage of marks declared. SBI PO: age 21–30 years as on 1 April 2026; Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government. Final-year or final-semester students may apply provisionally but must have passed by 30 September 2026. Integrated dual degree holders must have passed by 30 September 2026. Both from the latest official notices.

What is the salary of IBPS PO vs SBI PO?

As printed in the notices — IBPS PO: Basic pay ₹48,480 – 85,920 (JMGS-I scale). SBI PO: Basic pay ₹48,480 (scale 48480-2000/7-62480-2340/2-67160-2680/7-85920), plus 4 advance increments. Allowances are paid on top; in-hand pay is not estimated here.

How is the selection process of IBPS PO different from SBI PO?

IBPS PO: Preliminary exam: online objective test (qualifying; shortlists for Mains); Main exam: online objective test plus descriptive paper; Personality test and common interview; Provisional allotment to a participating bank. SBI PO: Prelims: online objective test of 100 marks, qualifying only; Mains: online objective test (200 marks) plus a descriptive test (30 marks); Phase-III: psychometric test, group exercise (20 marks) and interview (30 marks).

How many vacancies are there in IBPS PO and SBI PO?

IBPS PO: 6,715 (indicative; Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India not reported). SBI PO: 1,500 (1,446 regular + 54 backlog). As printed in each latest notice.

What is the application fee for IBPS PO and SBI PO?

IBPS PO: ₹850 (all others); ₹175 (SC/ST/PwBD), inclusive of GST. SBI PO: ₹750 (General/EWS/OBC); Nil (SC/ST/PwBD). Fee exemptions are listed in each notice.

All exam comparisons